Operation: Kick the Habit

Yeah, that.

Ok, it’s official. Well, almost. I have 14 cigarettes left, and after they’re gone, I’m done. That should happen sometime tomorrow afternoon.

The withdrawl-induced freakout should commence roughly 24 hours after I smoke my last one. The longest I’ve been able to go before I start scouring every conceivable crevice for loose change is 48 hours.

So yeah… we’ll see how it goes this time.

Oh, how I've loved you.

I apologize in advance for the bitchy. But I’ve been smoking for 3 years, 3 months, and 3 days… it’s kind of poetic that I’ll be able to say that when anyone asks how long I smoked. I just don’t want to do it anymore, ya know?

Haha, nice. I had to type that last sentence twice to get “don’t” in there.

So. Awesome.

I can think of lots of reasons why I shouldn’t smoke- money, health, social pariah, etc.- but the bottom line is, idontwantit. I don’t want to worry about getting a pack when we’re running low on cash, I don’t want to always be the one who’s sneaking off to have a few puffs, and it would be nice if this yellow spot on the side of my right middle finger would go away.

Sooooo… the rest of this week should be interesting.

5 Comments on “Operation: Kick the Habit”

  1. egills says:

    Wow – good luck!
    I really do wish I could wake up one day and not feel the need… I’ve been smoking for about 27/28 years ( I think ).
    Maybe I should lock myself up in solitude for a few months while I get over it, in the mean time I will continue in my own little sad way ( and keep using the pummice stone to get rid of the yellow spot )

    • I’ve seriously considered just soaking my hands in bleach every now and then… but then I figure that stale smoke and bleach together wouldn’t make the best scent.

      I kept hoping that I would wake up one day without the urge. Since that hasn’t happened, I just need to find a distraction for when the urge does hit. I should hit my little freakout as the husband is leaving for work tomorrow night, so luckily I’ll be alone for the brunt of it.

      I’m all for the solitude idea… that way, there’s no guilt over accidentally flipping out on your husband or the kids 🙂

  2. Did it stick?

    Signed,

    Supposed to quit in August. 🙂


Leave a Reply

